New York City Council Hearing on Resolution 0976 – 2019  calling on the New York City Comptroller to instruct the pension funds of public employees in New York City to divest from and avoid any financial exposure to companies involved in the production and maintenance of nuclear weapons, reaffirming New York City as a Nuclear Weapons Free Zone, and joining the ICAN Cities Appeal and calling on the United States to support and join the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons and also INT 1621 – 2019, a Local Law in relation to creating a nuclear disarmament and nuclear weapons-free zone advisory committee on January 28, 2019.

Photos By Yolanda Andersson

Opening Statement by Council Member Daniel Dromm


Marilru Kojima | Ian Zabarte | Owl Smith (speaks, and then reads Chief Dwaine Perry’s statement) | Miyako Taguchi | Frida Berrigan | Liz McAlister | Joanne Kennedy (reading the statement of Martha Hennessy) | Betty Reardon | Bill Hartung | Blaise Dupuy | Mary Yelenick | Brendan Fay | Maura Keaney | Alice Slater | Ray Acheson | Jacqueline Cabasso | Seth Sheldon (written testimony) |Raymond Black | Elaine Scarry | Jamie Bauer | Jonathan Granoff | Michael Lent | Tom Gogan | Robert Croonquist | Susan Schnall | John Marigliano | Tom Dwyer, Sr. | Tarak Kauf | Emilie McGlone | Herey Metange (sp?) (reading statement by Linda Chapman) | Sengilla Kenwa (reading testimony of Hibakusha, Yasuaki Yamashita) | Chinwi Wong (reading the testimony of Hibakusha, Shigeko Sasamori) | Lena Gerung (reading the testimony of Hibakusha, Setsuko Thurlow) | Mitchie Takeuchi | Rosemarie Pace | Sally Jones | Anthony Donovan | Michael Gorbachev | Rev. Toshikazu Kenjitsu Nakagaki | Christian Ciobanu | Jon Lipsky | Donna Stien | Bill Ofenloch (reading statement of Fr. Steve Kelly, S.J.) | Yuni Chang | Leslie Cagan | Heidi Hunter | Lilly Adams | Timmon Wallis | Vicki Elson | Alfred Meyer | Chuck Johnson.

Written Stament

Background Paper

Video feed of the hearing