The Nobel Women's Initiative

The Nobel Women's Initiative was established in 2006 by sister Nobel Peace Laureates Jody Williams (USA - 1997), Shirin Ebadi (Iran - 2003), Wangari Maathai (Kenya - 2004), Rigoberta Menchu Tum (Guatemala - 1992), Betty Williams (Northern Ireland, 1976) and Mairead Maguire (Northern Ireland, 1976).

Choose Renewable Energy Over Nuclear Power: Nobel Peace Laureates to World Leaders

On the eve of the 25th anniversary of the Chernobyl disaster – and 6 weeks after the devastating disaster in Japan – 9 Nobel Peace Laureates call upon world leaders to invest in safer forms of renewable energy by sending an open letter to 31 heads of state whose countries are currently heavily invested in nuclear power production, or are considering investing in nuclear power.