Cuba is now on the list of countries that have ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons and thus demonstrates its commitment to the non-proliferation of such devices.

The Permanent Representative of Cuba to the United Nations, Anayansi Rodriguez, announced that the day before she deposited the instrument of ratification of this treaty in an official ceremony.

With this action, the Caribbean country confirms that it attaches the highest priority to disarmament, according to a communiqué issued by Cuba’s diplomatic mission to the United Nations.

The Nuclear Weapons Ban Treaty was signed by Cuban Foreign Minister Bruno Rodriguez on 20 September 2017, along with representatives of 41 other states.

To date, Cuba is the fifth country to ratify the convention.

This international legal instrument obliges its States parties not to develop, test, produce, manufacture, otherwise acquire, possess or stockpile nuclear weapons and explosive devices.

The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, adopted with 122 UN member states voting in favour on 17 July 2017, aims to achieve a world free of these lethal devices.

But it can only enter into force once 50 nations have completed their national ratification processes.

On numerous occasions, Cuba has warned about the threat posed by nuclear weapons to the existence of the human race, as well as the catastrophic consequences of their use.

The original article can be found here