Yesterday, Friday 8th of December, three more countries formally signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in a ceremony at the UN in New York.

Jamaica, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Namibia join 53 other countries as signatories.  Three countries have ratified the Treaty and deposited their instruments of ratification.  Mexico’s Senate has also ratified the Treaty with the instrument of ratification due to be deposited at the UN any day.

Tomorrow, Sunday 10th of December, ICAN, (the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons) will officially receive the Nobel Peace Prize for their efforts to bring the Treaty into existence.  Beatrice Fihn, Executive Director of ICAN, and Setsuko Thurlow, survivor of the Hiroshima bomb in 1945 will officially receive the prize and speak on behalf of the network.  Hundreds of activists of all generations and continents are gathering in Oslo for the ceremony and celebrations.