LIVE on March 9: Will Argentina’s ‘green tide’ on abortion rights spread throughout Latin America?

04.03.2021 - Global Voices Online

LIVE on March 9: Will Argentina’s ‘green tide’ on abortion rights spread throughout Latin America?
(Image by Romina Navarro on Global Voices; Lara Va vía Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0); Juan Diez vía Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0).)

The Spanish-language session will be live-streamed on Facebook Live, YouTube, and Twitch

The legalization of abortion in Argentina in December 2020 triggered a wave of debates on reproductive rights across Latin America. Several countries in the region impose a total ban on abortion; and in others where the practice has been fully or partially legalized, it faces strong backlash from pro-life groups.

Join us on March 9 for the latest in our Global Voices Insights live webinar series, where a panel will explore the impact of the Argentina decision on the rest of Latin America, and attempt to answer the question: Will Argentina’s “green tide” spread throughout the region, changing laws and attitudes around abortion? 

The session, which will be conducted in Spanish and moderated by Melissa Vida, Global Voices’ regional editor for Latin America, starts at 6pm UTC (12pm Mexico City and Central America/1pm Bogotá/3pm Buenos Aires/7pm Madrid), and features the following:

  • Anette Eklund, translator and content creator, journalist, professor, activist and advocate for linguistic democracy and human rights; also a Global Voices contributor.
  • Vienna Herrera, multimedia reporter with the Hondura news outlet Contracorriente, focused on issues of gender, sexual and reproductive rights, extractivism, environment and power structures; also a member of the team of the project “Land of Resistants,” a finalist for the Premio Gabo 2020.
  • Gabriela Mesones Rojo, Venezuelan journalist and writer, editorial coordinator of Cinco8 and  Caracas Chronicles; also a contributor and researcher on Global Voices’ Civic Media Observatory.
  • Giselle Carino, CEO of IPPFRHO (International Planned Parenthood Federation, Western Hemisphere Region), a growing feminist and progressive ecosystem of 26 local partner organizations, mostly from the South. The mission of Giselle, an Argentine political scientist and activist, who has proven herself to be a change agent and high-impact leader, is to drive change for gender equality throughout the global South.

The session is free of charge and open on the public, and will be live-streamed on Facebook Live, YouTube y Twitch.

We look forward to having you join us on March 9 at 6pm UTC (click this link to convert to your local time zone)!

Written by Melissa Vida
Categories: Culture and Media, Gender and Feminisms, Human Rights, South America
Tags: , , ,

Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to our daily news service.

Search

Training Pressenza

Documentaries Catalogue

Every Sunday

Culture and Arts Notebook

In Mobilization For Assange!

In The Zone Podcast

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons

Archives

xpornplease pornjk porncuze porn800 porn600 tube300 tube100 watchfreepornsex

Except where otherwise note, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.