The US Peace Memorial Foundation directs a nationwide effort to honor Americans who stand for peace by publishing the US Peace Registry, awarding the annual US Peace Prize, and planning for the US Peace Memorial in Washington, DC. These projects help move the United States toward a culture of peace by honoring thoughtful and courageous Americans and U.S. organizations that have taken a public stand against one or more U.S. wars or who have devoted their time, energy, and other resources to finding peaceful solutions to international conflicts.

The US Peace Prize recognizes and honors the most outstanding American antiwar leaders. These courageous individuals and organizations have publicly opposed military interventions such as invasion, occupation, production of weapons of mass destruction, use of weapons, threats of war, or other actions that threaten peace. By honoring these and other courageous role models, we hope to inspire more Americans to speak out for peace and to work to end the hatred, ignorance, greed, and intolerance that lead to war.

The 2020 Peace Prize nominees are:

  • Christine Ahn
  • Daniel Ellsberg\
  • Thomas C. Fox
  • Tulsi Gabbard
  • Alfred L. Marder
  • Whatcom Peace and Justice Center
  • World BEYOND War

You may read about their antiwar/peace work in the US Peace Registry. The information published there will be the only data considered by our Board of Directors when making the selection.