The Laureates of this year’s Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’, will be announced on 22 September in Stockholm at 10:00 CET (08:00 UTC) at the Swedish Foreign Office International Press Centre (Fredsgatan 6).

The announcement will be made by Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director, and Marianne Andersson, Board Member of the Right Livelihood Award Foundation. The international Jury convened in Überlingen, Germany from 8-11 September to select the recipients of the 2016 Right Livelihood Award from a total of 125 nominations from 50 countries.

Established in 1980, the Right Livelihood Award honours and supports courageous people and organisations offering visionary and exemplary solutions to the root causes of global problems.

In addition to presenting the annual award, the Right Livelihood Award Foundation supports the work of its Laureates, particularly those who may be in danger due to the nature of their activities.

Today, there are 162 Right Livelihood Award Laureates from 67 countries who have been recognised for their outstanding vision and work on behalf of people and the planet.

Previous Laureates include environmentalists David Suzuki (Canada) and Vandana Shiva (India), human rights activists Jacqueline Moudeina (Chad), Dr Denis Mukwege (DR Congo) and Bianca Jagger (Nicaragua), as well as Swedish children’s book author Astrid Lindgren and high-profile US whistleblowers Daniel Ellsberg and Edward Snowden.

The announcement will be live streamed via: