Norway ratifies the Protocol to the Forced Labour Convention – C29

20.12.2015 - Pressenza Hong Kong

Norway ratifies the Protocol to the Forced Labour Convention – C29

Good news to share! After pressure from Walk Free supporters and other organisations, Norway has become the second country, after Niger, to ratify the Protocol to the Forced Labour Convention (better known as C29).1 This is important since the adopted Protocol only comes into force 12 months after being ratified by two member states.

Following the Norwegian Government’s action, the new Protocol will come into force on 9 November 2016.

SIGN NOW and ask your country to ratify the C29 Protocol.

This Protocol was created last year to update Convention 29, which was drafted in 1930, so that it is equipped to address modern slavery today. Through our collective voice, we can ensure protection measures to end forced labour are up to date in every country in the world.

Tell your government to ratify urgently.

Millions of men, women and children are enslaved worldwide, forced against their will to labour in fields and factories, in mines and at sea, on construction sites and even in the homes of families. Governments have the power to help end exploitation in your country. In every country.

The C29 Protocol provides measures to prevent forced labour, to protect victims and give them access to justice. But to give protection and keep governments to account, each country must sign up. Call on your government to ratify the Protocol and give a voice to those trapped in the silent web of slavery.

In solidarity,

Maru, Alex, Joanna, and the rest of Walk Free Team

Categories: Human Rights, Press Releases
Tags: , ,


Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to our daily news service.


Film: The Beginning of the End of Nuclear Weapons

Documentary: UBI, our right to live

In Mobilization For Assange!

2nd World March for Peace and Nonviolence

Milagro Sala

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons


Except where otherwise note, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.